Here Are The World Leaders Who Will Grace The G20 Summit

India is all set to take the world’s centre stage with the G20 Summit on 9-10 September
G20 Countries
G20 Countries

The national capital will welcome the heads of states of several prominent and powerful nations when the G20 Leaders’ Summit will take place between 9-10 September in the city. The security measures have been put in place to ensure the smooth functioning of the event. The summit will be held at the newly inaugurated Bharat Mandapam, Pragati Maidan.

The event will be culmination of all the G20 procedures and gatherings of ministers, senior officials, and civil society that took place throughout the year. At its conclusion, a G20 Leaders' Declaration will be adopted, outlining the commitment of the leaders to the priorities discussed and chosen during the corresponding ministerial and working group sessions, according to a report by Mint.

The leaders will attempt to resolve issues such as climate change, international trade, the war in Ukraine, among other things. India finds itself in the middle of geopolitical tensions owing to border conflicts with China, and over its neutral stance regarding the war in Ukraine. China’s President Xi Jinping will not attend the event.

Chinese Premier Li Qiang will attend the G20 Summit instead of Xi Jinping
Chinese Premier Li Qiang will attend the G20 Summit instead of Xi Jinping

The leaders will arrive in New Delhi on Friday with the rest slated to arrive on Saturday. The Union Government has also assigned several ministers in its roster to welcome and greet the dignitaries.

The President of Nigeria, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, first Head of Delegation to arrive in New Delhi for the summit, was welcomed by MoS Health SP Singh Baghel. Apart from him, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the Director General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) also arrived in the city on Thursday.

US President Joe Biden is expected to arrive for the event on Friday. First Lady Jill Biden had earlier tested positive for Covid-19 and although the President has tested negative now, he will still be attending the event as per CDC Covid-19 protocols. He is expected to land at around 6.55 pm, and will be received by Minister of State VK Singh.

Apart from Biden, French President Emmanuel Macron, Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, Bangaladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, UAE President HH Shaikh Mohamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan are among the G20 leaders who have already confirmed and will be arriving for the summit. China's Premier Li Qiang is expected to arrive by 7:45 pm

Moreover, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa has also confirmed his visit to India for the G20 Summit. He will be accompanied by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Naledi Pandor.

Other World leaders such as Prime Minister of Italy Giorgia Meloni, Ursula von der Leyen, President of European Commission, Mathias Cormann, Secretary General of OECD, Minister of Economy, Raquel Buenrostro Sánchez of Mexico, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Mauritius; European Council President Charles Michel have already arrived in New Delhi for the G20 Summit.

The G20 grouping comprises Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US and the European Union.   

Related Stories

No stories found.
Outlook Business & Money